Nino Haratischwili has been awarded the Bertolt Brecht Prize 2018

Nino Haratischwili has been awarded the prestigious Bertolt Brecht Literature Prize 2018 – the prize giving ceremony will take place on 19th of April, 8 pm, at the Town Hall of Augsburg, the laudatio is held by Andreas Platthaus (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung). The statement of the jury;

»Nino Haratischwili's novels and plays can be associated with Bertolt Brecht – her ability to depict complicated historical processes, revolutions and wars as well as human failure, opportunism as well as abuse of power and individual catastrophes and knit them together with sensual history and great female characters is reminiscent of Brecht's 'Mother Courage' and his 'Caucasian Chalk Circle'.«


>> Click here for more information on the Prize


>> Click here to download the info sheet of The Eighth Life (For Brilka)



34,00 € *

Sofort lieferbar Merken
Nino Haratischwili © G2 Baraniak
Nino Haratischwili

Nino Haratischwili, geboren 1983 in Tbilissi, ist preisgekrönte Theaterautorin, -regisseurin und Autorin des Familienepos »Das achte Leben (Für Brilka)« (FVA 2014), das in zahlreiche Sprachen übersetzt und u. a. mit dem Literaturpreis des Kulturkreises der deutschen Wirtschaft, dem Anna Seghers-Literaturpreis, dem Lessing-Preis-Stipendium und zuletzt mit dem Bertolt-Brecht-Preis 2018 ausgezeichnet wurde. Ihr Roman »Die Katze und der General« (FVA 2018) wurde für die Shortlist des Deutschen Buchpreises 2018 nominiert.